Alicia Keys, Make-up, and Me

As I watched Alicia Keys on the Today show the other day, I watched her make-up less face and listened to the words that I felt were coming from a most genuine place in her heart.

Several years ago, I had a boyfriend who always called me Alicia. He said I looked like her. Although I thought she was beautiful, I couldn’t see it so I thought it was interesting that in the years that followed others said the same.

alicia_keys summer-owens

Yes? No? I was flattered either way because I not only see her beauty, but I admire her talent (I’m differently talented though) and her authenticity.

With her make-up free movement, she is demonstrating a tremendous amount of self-love, self-confidence, and bravery. She doesn’t knock people for wearing make-up. She is simply demonstrating to girls and women everywhere that you are fine without it.

In my first book, I describe how I used make-up (applied horribly in my ignorance) to try to hide my face. To cover my acne and not to “enhance” my beauty because I didn’t feel I had any beauty to enhance. Knowing that Alicia Keys has dealt with acne too and now wears no make-up is empowering in itself.

alicia-keys   summer-owens1

I like make-up and wear it on occasion, but I feel free using it to enhance the beauty that I now, as a confident, adult woman, know that I have.

In her Today Show interview, she said something that really stuck with me and epitomizes who I am today versus who I was as a girl and even just a little bit younger woman seeking the approval of others.

“Be yourself. Do what makes you feel good. Stop trying to please every damn body.”

Yep, I can do that.

About Summer Owens

I'm a person who has experienced high highs and low lows which have helped me relate to lots of people. I have overcome a lot of challenges and now live my life to help others do the same. As a life coach, author, and college professor of a life skills course that I was asked to create, I spend every day living life, observing life, and teaching life and how to live your best one.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Alicia Keys, Make-up, and Me

  1. Belinda says:

    YES to all of this!! And you are beautiful with or without makeup.

  2. Corey Chapman says:

    Beautiful …………..inside and out

  3. E Woodard says:

    You look like a little girl without makeup! So cute

Leave a Reply

