S.O. What! Shout Out to Dads

In this past week, I came across two videos that made me smile…honestly, they almost made me cry.

We hear so often about all the men in the world who do not care for their children and the countless single mothers who struggle to raise their children alone.

I am one of them. 

Over the 19 years of my son’s life, I was hurt when I saw men with their children. Sure, I was happy for those children and the mother’s of those children. But I was so sad for my son. And as we got into the trying teenage years, I was sad for myself that I did not have a dad to love and discipline my son.  I have to admit, I have been jealous!

My own relationship with my father became strained when I really needed help with my son and he was unwilling, or perhaps unable to help me as we needed.

Now that my son is a father, especially to a daughter, I am proud when I see him happily changing diapers and feeding her. Making faces and talking to her. At four months, she knows his voice and looks for him. I pray that he will have the relationship with his daughter that every child deserves. 

So when I saw this daddy dancing with his daughter https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NFFOUFpmyA#t=41 and this one little girl rapping with her dad about “Kickin’ it My Dad” https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Bv3YPSalxM  , I was beyond moved.

So here’s to all the daddy’s out there who get it! All the daddies who love their kids, enjoy their kids and know their kids truly need them.

About Summer Owens

When I started writing my first book, Life After Birth: A Memoir of Survival and Success as a Teenage Mother, I just wanted to tell my story. Today, I am a best-selling author, inspirational speaker, life coach, and college professor with own course that I created. Everything I do about helping people have success over obstacles and live their best lives no matter what. This blog is dedicated to sharing and expounding upon the lessons I learned and share in my book and that we all can use to say, "S.O. What!" to all the challenges life will throw our way...every day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

