Distinguished Young Alumna…I’m on the field again

Almost 12 years ago to the day, I was named Miss University of Memphis. I stood on the field of the Liberty Bowl and was shocked when they called my name as the winner. Me, yes, teen mom…Summer Owens. And on November 9, 2013 I stood on that field again. This time I was being honored with Congressman Steve Cohen and JW and Kathy Buckman…unbelievable. I had been enshrined as the Distinguished Young Alumna for the University of Memphis and was being honored at the homecoming football game and had already been honored at a basketball game the night before. I smiled and waved still in shock. My son who was in the stands and only six when I was named Miss UofM was there again with me. This time he was 18, and I believe he was truly proud of his mother.

About Summer Owens

When I started writing my first book, Life After Birth: A Memoir of Survival and Success as a Teenage Mother, I just wanted to tell my story. Today, I am a best-selling author, inspirational speaker, life coach, and college professor with own course that I created. Everything I do about helping people have success over obstacles and live their best lives no matter what. This blog is dedicated to sharing and expounding upon the lessons I learned and share in my book and that we all can use to say, "S.O. What!" to all the challenges life will throw our way...every day.
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

